top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Punisher, Phoebe Bridgers


Following the announcement today of Phoebe Bridgers as one of the many amazing opening acts on Taylor Swift’s The Eras Tour, I felt it was only fitting to start my 500-album journey with her most recent studio album, Punisher. I’ve listened to this album in chunks in the background before, but I’ve honestly never taken the time to immerse myself in the melancholy, indie rock goodness that is this Phoebe Bridgers album. This felt long overdue, especially as a longtime lover of Taylor Swift’s Red album and generally emotionally charged lyrics.


Stand out track: “ICU”
My favorites: “Kyoto”, “Punisher”, “Chinese Satellite”

Listening to this album gave me the weird, introspective, vibey feeling of some kind of Olivia Rodrigo/Sting crossover-- in the absolute best way. Songs with pulled back production and heavy lyrics, like “Savior Complex” and “Garden Song,” really create the dark heart and soul of this album. Songs like “ICU” and “Kyoto” are the songs that will catch your attention among the indie mist of the rest of the album, but title track “Punisher” was my personal favorite, with deep-cutting lyrics depicting feeling of the deception of being on the outside looking in, while knowing every detail of what’s going on inside.

AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

KINDA OBSESSED




Comments


bottom of page