top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

If I Can't Have Love, I Want Power, Halsey

So full disclosure, I have been a fan of Halsey since their debut EP Room 93 back in 2014. She caught my attention early on with songs like "Is There Somewhere" and "Ghost." She came out of the gate strong with their debut album Badlands in 2015, and for me, If I Can't Have Love, I Want Power is their best album since that debut.


If I Can't Have Love, I Want Power was one of my favorite albums of 2021, but I seemed to forget about it after I stopped listening to it on repeat (I blame the release Red (Taylor's Version) for that). I'm so glad I got back to this album because, it has a lot of good songs on it and it's stunning as a cohesive album.


Stand out tracks: "I am not a woman, I'm a god" "Easier Than Lying" "Ya'aburnee"
My favorites: "The Lighthouse" "Girl is a Gun" "You asked for this"

If I Can't Have Love, I Want Power is Halsey's furthest dive into pop-rock that she's ever gone-- and it suits them. The medieval theming of the album artwork carries through in the gorgeous, ethereal sounds of songs like "The Tradition" "1121" and "Whispers" and then crosses into the songs depicting strength, darkness, and unrelenting power like "Easier Than Lying" "I am not a woman, I'm a god" and "The Lighthouse." Weaved between ethereal and power are the relatively lighter songs that could be easily looked over, like "Lilith" "Darling" and "Ya'aburnee;" these are the songs that truly showcase Halsey's natural vocal talent and her ability to write a truly poetic love song. So ultimately, Halsey delivered on both love and power on this album.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

FULLY OBSESSED



Comments


bottom of page