top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Kick, INXS

I really didn't know what I would be getting into with an 80s rock album, but Kick took me by surprise. I appreciate the heck out of a rock album that can be listened to as a sonically cohesive compilation. With this album, INXS has successfully taken the title of my second-favorite Australian rock band (you're still number one 5SOS).


The instrumentals on this album have more of a pop/electronic influence than many other rock albums, and the unique production somehow makes every song unexpected while working so easily together to unify the album. Combined with smoothly edgy vocals, the whole sound of this album is fresh, stylish, and smooth.





Stand-out tracks: "Need You Tonight" "Never Tear Us Apart"
My favorites: "New Sensation" "The Loved One"

"Mediate" is definitely a filler track, but it's needed to slow things down after the hard-hitting beginning of the album consisting of tracks like "Guns in the Sky" and "Need You Tonight." "The Loved One" is sort of an upbeat, rock ballad, which continues the effortlessly cool vibe exuded through every song on this album. I'm thoroughly obsessed with the unexpected, meaty production in the track "Never Tear Us Apart"-- the bass and saxophone alone on this song is absolutely exquisite. The album closer, "Tiny Daggers," is the most classic rock track, which is a perfect ending to an album that spins classic rock into something new.


For me, Kick is one of those rare, skipless albums. I know I've only dipped my toe in this album project, but I foresee Kick to land itself as one of my favorites.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

FULLY OBSESSED



Commentaires


bottom of page