top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

The 1975, The 1975

I vividly remember the waves that The 1975 made with their self titled 2013 album. In a time when social media was on the rise, this album and its songs were everywhere on platforms like Pinterest and Tumblr. The album aesthetic was cool and edgy, the music was easy to listen to, and as an album, The 1975 is near perfect.



I listened to this album back when it was first released a fair amount, but it's faded from my album library over time. Coming back to it reminded me of just how unique, grungy, catchy, and skipless The 1975 is.


Stand out tracks: "Chocolate" "Settle Down"
My favorites: "The City" "Pressure"

I could do a deep dive into every track on this album, but they're all so ridiculously good and cohesive and catchy that I would advise you to just give this album a listen yourself. "The City" catches your attention right away with it's commanding drums and boppy hook. "Chocolate," "Heart Out," and "Settle Down" are among the stars of tracks with get-stuck-in-your-head choruses, electronic influences, and irresistible guitars. Interludes like "An Encounter," "The 1975," and the beginning of "Menswear" divide this album almost into acts, which makes the listening experience all the more cinematic in a sense. The album closes with the pared down ballad "Is There Somebody Who Can Watch You," which mimics closing credits to this album and the story it tells across the whole piece of work.


No one was doing it quite like The 1975 in 2013, and I have yet to come across a band that has a sound quite like theirs. And with a 16-track debut album as good as The 1975, I'll be coming back for more from this band going forward.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

FULLY OBSESSED



Commentaires


bottom of page