top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Emotions, Mariah Carey

Between the fiasco that was buying tickets to The Eras Tour and a couple days out of town, putting my thoughts into words about music hasn't been the easiest to get to over the past week or so. But, in true me-fashion, I've continued listening to music in that time away.




As I packed for my trip to New York City this weekend, I listened to two different Mariah Carey albums-- first up, Emotions. If anyone recalls, I was pleasantly caught off guard by how much I adored her debut album, and Emotions continues her streak of near-perfect R&B/pop albums.





Stand-out tracks: "Emotions" "Till the End of Time"
My favorites: "Can't Let Go" "You're So Cold"

Mariah kicks off this album hard with a track that so easily gets stuck in your head with titletrack "Emotions"-- this one is fun and shows off her vocal talent, picking right up where she left off with Mariah Carey. She turns down the fun pretty quickly moving into both "And Don't You Remember" and "Can't Let Go" but her gorgeous wailing vocals above a ballad-y, sparse instrumental (with fun little 90s pop beats thrown in there to make it interesting) accurately conveys that range of emotions she was getting at with the album title. She hits her power streak with "If It's Over" and "You're So Cold," the first being arguably the biggest power ballad on this album and the second being the sassiest track of them all. The album leaves you with the happiest, most optimistic, heartfelt string of songs with R&B/dance-influenced "To Be Around You" and the wistful "Till the End of Time." I honestly wish "Till the End of Time" was the album closer, because "The Wind" closes the album without much interest with sparse piano and angelic-but-basic vocals-- the best thing about it is if you listen on repeat, "Emotions" opens the album again with a nice punch.


While her debut was hard to top, Mariah Carey made a valiant effort with Emotions. We see her stunning vocals more in their raw, dare I say emotional lens than we saw on Mariah Carey. This album is a little less cohesive than her debut, but I can definitely appreciate the theme of emotions that is definitely present across the full album.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

OBSESSED WITH SOME TRACKS



留言


bottom of page