top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Battle Studies, John Mayer

I'll be the first to admit that I'm far from a fan of John Mayer as a person (have you heard "Would've, Could've, Should've" from Midnights?), but I remember loving the Battle Studies album back when I found out that Taylor Swift's background vocals were on "Half of My Heart."


Despite my feelings about John-Mayer-the-person, I'm so glad I came back to Battle Studies because John-Mayer-the-artist does so many things right on this album.








Stand out tracks: "Assassin," "Friends, Lovers, or Nothing"
My favorites: "Heartbreak Warfare," "Half of My Heart," "War of My Life"

I wish every album had as good of an opening track as "Heartbreak Warfare" is on this album-- it packs a punch in the gentlest way, illustrating the hopeless inevitability of a relationship falling apart. "Assassin" feels almost like a rock confession of all the wrongs John Mayer has committed in relationships past-- but in his eyes, "she's an assassin, too" so maybe all the intensity of the relationship wasn't all his fault. "Crossroads" is truly a track of just showing off the guitar skills that have landed John Mayer as one of the modern-day greats. For me, "Half of My Heart" paints a beautiful picture of navigating a relationship that should be a fairytale, but is just hit too hard with reality.


Overall, John Mayer has created one heck of a concept album: one that illustrates the story our relationships with ourselves, with life, with romantic interests, and the battles and joys that come with fighting for what we value most.

AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

KINDA OBSESSED



Commentaires


bottom of page