top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Superbloom, Ashton Irwin

I may have taken a bit of a hiatus from writing about music, but I can promise you that I haven't taken any kind of a break from listening to it. The coolest thing about this project so far to me has been the music-related connections I've been able to appreciate more and the discoveries I've made of music that brings me joy that I may not have otherwise listened to.


Superbloom is an album that I've listened to bits and pieces of over the last year and a half since its release, but I've never been able to bring myself to listen to it in full.


After taking it in as a complete work, it's honestly a shame I've never consumed this album cohesively prior to now. For me personally, there are one or two dud songs, but overall 5 Seconds of Summer drummer Ashton Irwin takes on a whole new level of classic rock depth than he's ever been able to show before.






Stand-out tracks: "Greyhound", "SCAR"
My favorites: "Matter of Time (Interlude)", "The Sweetness"

Superbloom dips its toe in many different corners of the rock genre, from airy acoustic of "Sunshine" to the electro-contemporary rock of "Perfect Lie." "SCAR" and "Have U Found What Ur Looking For?" open Superbloom with the vibe-y sweeping sound that accurately illustrates the sound of the rest of the album while lyrically portraying the messages of trying to understand the complexities of yourself. "Greyhound" checks every single box to make for a great rock track-- it's lyrically complex with its storytelling, has echoey and soulful vocals, and is fully immersive in it's instrumentation. I love the simplicity of "Matter of Time (Interlude)" in contrast to the rest of the album's ear-pounding sound. The highlights of the second half of the album are definitely "The Sweetness" - a fantastic representation of the feeling of passion when you've found the things that give your life meaning - and the album closer "Perfect Lie" - a darker sounding, dancier track that ends the album on a fitting mysterious note.


I'm not usually one to gravitate to such a heavy rock album as Superbloom, but if that's what I'm in the mood for, this is the album I'll be coming back to for that fix.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

KINDA OBSESSED




Comentarios


bottom of page