top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Mariah Carey, Mariah Carey

I've known that Mariah Carey is one of the bestselling artists of all time (not to mention the queen of Christmas music), but after listening to her 1990 debut album Mariah Carey, now I truly understand why she's made the lasting impact on pop music that she has. This woman came out of the gate with a skipless album.


Mariah Carey is, quite simply, the absolute best of 90s R&B/pop.


"I Don't Wanna Cry" is mystical and Whitney Houston-esque which makes the boppy, unrelenting "someday you're gonna pay" of "Someday" all the more powerful (and ending the song with whistletones? Amazing). I'm a sucker for 90s production quality and this album is just oozing out the seams with electronic pianos and 90s synths. "You Need Me" is like a fabulous punch in the face of girl power and it transitions beautifully into dreamy "Sent From Above"-- the combination of the two show the duality of power in independence and the power in an inexplicable connection. And the album closer, "Love Takes Time," is like the gorgeous, rolling credits song after the movie that you sit through in the theater after a great movie that unexpectedly swept you off your feet.


Stand out track: "You Need Me"
My favorites: "There's Got to Be a Way", "Someday," "Alone in Love"

As someone who grew up in the peak age of popularity for both the Cheetah Girls and Ariana Grande, I have a new respect for the incredible influence Mariah Carey very clearly had on the pop I've known and loved.


I'm so excited that I have a full Mariah Carey discography to discover, because Mariah Carey is definitely an album I'll be coming back to time and time again.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

FULLY OBSESSED



Comments


bottom of page