top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

…Baby One More Time, Britney Spears

It's hard to miss on an album that starts with a song as catchy and iconic as the title track "...Baby One More Time." Britney's debut album presents as the words of a teenager writing about her heartache and crushes on with a feathery gel pen wearing a Juicy Couture velour tracksuit. Every song is delightfully boppy-- almost to the point that I started having trouble telling one song from another.



Stand out track: "...Baby One More Time"
My favorites: "(You Drive Me) Crazy" "Deep In My Heart"

If you're not a fan of having songs stuck in your head, this isn't the album for you. I swear I have a Britney medley on repeat in my brain because pretty much every track is stuck in my head. "Born to Make You Happy" and "From the Bottom of My Broken Heart" are teen heartbreak anthems at their finest, while "(You Drive Me) Crazy" and "Deep in My Heart" are dance-around-your-room, classic bubblegum pop. There are some definite fluff songs on this album, most notably "Soda Pop" and "The Beat Goes On" and Britney is far from a lyrical queen, but she sure knows how to romanticize the heck out of surface-level teenage romance, (see "I Will Be There", "Thinkin' About You" and "I'll Never Stop Loving You"). Ending this album with "Autumn Goodbye" is the exact tone Britney needed to leave listeners with to hit play again on their CD players.


...Baby One More Time isn't the best of the best from Britney Spears, but it does its job of being a debut album that would leave listeners wanting to come back for more 90s pop goodness from a pop princess.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

OBSESSED WITH SOME TRACKS



Comments


bottom of page