top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Rare, Selena Gomez

With the documentary Selena Gomez: My Mind & Me releasing tomorrow, I felt drawn to re-listen to one of my favorite albums of 2020 (which is saying something considering pretty much every single one of my favorite artists released an album in 2020).


I may be biased in my opinion of this album considering I was one of the people who pre-ordered the first Selena Gomez & The Scene album before it even had a title all the way back in 2008 (aaaand I also have a signed copy of Rare). But my longtime fan status may also make me a more informed critic-- following up 2015's Revival and its multiple huge hits was going to be a challenge; I would call Rare right on par with, but not better than, Revival.



Rare has a lot of really great things going for it: it's incredibly sonically cohesive, it beautifully showcases the best of Selena Gomez's voice, it goes deeper emotionally than any other Selena Gomez album has ever gone, and it's just plain fun to listen to.


Stand-out tracks: "Lose You To Love Me" "A Sweeter Place"
My favorites: "Vulnerable" "Dance Again" "People You Know"

Rare tells a story across its tracklist of the freeing feeling of coming into your own self-worth and leaving behind the things that don't serve you. Whether it's losing a longtime partner ("Lose You to Love Me") or fake friends ("People You Know"), dancing in front of the mirror in your bedroom feeling yourself ("Rare" "Dance Again"), dipping your toes in the waters of a new relationship ("Vulnerable" "Crowded Room"), or beginning to wonder what life will bring you next ("A Sweeter Place"), this album is like a wrapping a cozy blanket around yourself while wearing a glittery dress.


The soft pop journey of Rare feels like the most authentic music Selena Gomez has put out in her music career. And I plan on coming back to this album again and again.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

FULLY OBSESSED



Comments


bottom of page