top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

emails i can't send, Sabrina Carpenter

If life wasn't bad enough for Joshua Bassett after Olivia Rodrigo released SOUR in 2021, the other girl in the love triangle, miss Sabrina Carpenter, clapped back at him again in her own poppy, unrelenting way. While SOUR was more an album of " how do I cope with this post-breakup heartache", emails i can't send takes the perspective of "I'm so over this immaturity and drama."


Stand-out tracks: "because i liked a boy" "skinny dipping"
My favorites: "Vicious" "bet u wanna" "Bad for Business"

Calling this album emails i can't send is a great way to describe the confessional nature of this collection of songs. From the sassy "you just run to whoever is winning" of "Vicious" to the insecurity of"I wonder how many things you think about before you get to me" in "how many things," all the emotions of leaving and moving on from something you realize isn't serving you anymore are on full display across this album.


"bet u wanna" might be one of my favorite I-know-I'm-the-one-who-got-away girl-power bops I've maybe ever come across-- it's sultry, confident, and fun. "Nonsense" is very Ariana Grande-esque with its high-octave notes, clever spoken parts, and bouncy-but-simple backing track.


I appreciate that Sabrina Carpenter has jammed a lot of specific lyrics into a 39-minute pop album. She does a better job of storytelling on emails i can't send than most pop albums of twice this length. Is this the best pop album that has come out of the last 5 years? Probably not. But, with emails i can't send, Sabrina Carpenter has put in a pretty good bid to stick around as an artist to watch going forward.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

KINDA OBSESSED




Comments


bottom of page