top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

Synchronicity, The Police

Synchronicity is a fascinating thing for The Police to have called this album. In knowing that it was their final studio album as a band, a title depicting cohesion is interesting on its own. But in listening to Synchronicity, it feels very much like two albums (perhaps an A-side and a B-side as it would have been popular to listen to it as when it was released).


I happened to have really liked what I think of as the B-side of the album, starting with "Synchronicity II". But in all honesty, I didn't get much out of tracks 2-5, and "Mother" was distinctly jarring and off-putting (that's likely the point of the song, but it still doesn't mean I enjoyed listening to it.


Stand out tracks: "Every Breath You Take" "Wrapped Around Your Finger"


My favorites: "Synchronicity I" "Synchronicity II" "Tea in the Sahara"


It makes all the sense in the world to me why "Every Breath You Take" was not only a hit, but a classic. It's a breath of fresh air when you hit the middle of this album and, when coupled with "King of Pain," it makes for a beautiful soft rock section of this album. I enjoyed the jazz-y, relaxed track "Tea in the Sahara" even though it could easily slip between the cracks due to the presence of other songs that pack more of a punch.


Ultimately, I have mixed feelings on Synchronicity. I love the B-side and would listen to it regularly on its own, but the A-side really drives down my opinion of this album as a cohesive work. Hence the album name, I call that irony at its finest.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING:

PROBABLY NOT LISTENING AGAIN



Comments


bottom of page