top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

i didn't ask for this, JØRDYN

In the genre defined by artists like Lizzy McAlpine and Phoebe Bridgers, new indie singer/songwriter JØRDYN makes her debut with her EP, i didn’t ask for this, released independently May 10. The project sees JØRDYN explore the realities, struggles, and unfairness of life amidst transitions, like her own transition from high school to college. She touches on loss, grief, jealousy, and displacement while experimenting with harmony, vocoding, and soundscape to create her own unique sound. 


While I typically give my own input on my favorite and standout tracks on each Abby's Albums review, I had the opportunity to also ask JØRDYN her own favorite and standout on i didn't ask for this:


"My favorite song is definitely the title track 'i didn't ask for this'. That is also definitely the stand out track as well. It is the most collaborative song of the EP and it shows. It really highlights the people I hold so near to my heart, my band."

My favorites: "Clean" "Jurnee"
Stand-out tracks: "i didn't ask for this"

This 5-track project starts with "Intro" that blends seamlessly into "Clean," with the former being a light instrumental with distorted spoken vocals seeming to set up the story of creating i didn't ask for this, with studio footage of JØRDYN verbally working through the process of finding her sound and her writing style while collaborating in the studio. "Clean," the single released from the project, finds JØRDYN stating "We're too old to be so young/We were closed but close enough/We know too much now and it kinda sucks/We know too much now and it's obvious that we won't grow old together'" backed by a synthy acoustic and a light, driving drum pad beat.


Ending i didn't ask for this with the title track is the perfect way to culminate the album; it builds slowly with a beautiful guitar-based melody that couples with JØRDYN's soft-spoken vocals. The chorus aches with "Holding on bridges that burn too long/And all of the ashes kept my tears in place/Swallow me whole and then forget the pain/I didn't ask for this" before JØRDYN's full vocal range finally has it's chance to shine, powerfully signing off the EP with the perfect combination of grief and hope.


Keep up with JØRDYN here: https://jrdynofficial.com/.


AM I OBSESSED?

RATING: OBSESSED WITH SOME TRACKS



Comentarios


bottom of page