top of page
Writer's pictureAbby Anderson

INTERVIEW: charlieonnafriday on Macklemore, His Debut Album, & Heading Out on His First Headlining Tour

American singer-songwriter/rapper charlieonnafriday is making a bold entrance into the pop scene with his debut album, WILD CHILD. charlieonnafriday had his big break into the mainstream music scene through his ongoing partnership with fellow Seattle-based rapper Macklemore, and opening for popstar Tate McRae on her Are We Flying Tour. WILD CHILD, the follow-up to his project ONNAFRIDAY, was released on August 23 via Island Records. In a press conference to celebrate the album’s release, charlieonnafriday spoke about the creative process behind the album alongside his artistic inspirations for his upcoming first headlining tour.

charlieonnafriday
Via charlieonnafriday on YouTube

WILD CHILD by charlieonnafriday captures the artist's journey over the last few transformative years, with some tracks crafted two years ago and others wrapped in the last few months. Following their collaboration, Macklemore’s influence on Charlie both as a musician and a performer is evident. Charlie described multiple experiences related to Macklemore’s live concept and fan interaction as inspiring to his own growth as an artist. As charlieonnafriday continues to grow, his next dream collaboration is with none other than Post Malone. This hints at an exciting future for Charlie’s career as he continues to push boundaries, and hopes to turn his influences into his collaborators. One of the later tracks on WILD CHILD,I Don’t Wanna Go Downtown,’ stands out as a heartfelt acoustic ballad about healing. Written during a late Nashville night, it captures the raw realization that there isn’t always escape in escaping if you have the right company. 


What experiences shaped the concept for your upcoming live shows?

Charlie: “I think I go back to that Macklemore tour, honestly. Like I think that when I was doing shows early on when I was like 18, 19, I don't think I was very good at talking to the crowd or when things did go wrong. I didn't really know what to do. He’s really, really good at being very comfortable on stage and talking to the fans.”

What are your favorite things about your fan base?

Charlie: “They're rowdy, very rowdy. I think I just love the vibe they have. They just want to party. They want to have fun. I love that.”

What song(s) from the album are you looking forward to playing for fans?

Charlie: “I think the first song on the album - it's called 81 Camino. I think it's going to be a really crazy live song.”

How do you hope people feel walking away after listening to your debut album?

Charlie: “I just hope they feel good!”


This article is cross-posted on Musically United, thanks to 1824 - UMG's Creative Solutions team: https://musicallyunited.squarespace.com/freelance/charlieonnafriday

Comentarios


bottom of page